CARS HOMES JOBS
Mark McGuire's Talking It Over
by Mark McGuire

Talking It Over

A Daily Gazette news blog
What's being talked about in the Daily Gazette, Schenectady, the Capital Region, nation and a few other places.
 
Tuesday, Aug. 5, 2014

Scrabble adds 5,000 words, but what about "kwyjibo"?

Scrabble adds 5,000 words to its arsenal.
 
Monday, Aug. 4, 2014

Name a tract of The Track

Almost every nook of Saratoga Race Course has a name ... except its main intersection.
 
Tuesday, July 29, 2014

Royal the Duck

So SCCC has a mascot. Finally. It's a duck. Take it away.
 
Friday, July 18, 2014

Summer and Saratoga arrive together

Every year the calendar lies.
 
Thursday, July 10, 2014

Would you share a bike?

Schenectady hosting a pilot bike sharing program this week, with other local cities to follow. Would you use it?
 
Wednesday, July 9, 2014

Hoffman's closing: A moment in bad parenting remembered

Hoffman's Playland is closing. To our oldest kid, it was Disney. Wonder where she got that idea ...
 
Thursday, July 3, 2014

Your annual 'Don't be Stupid' reminder

Every Fourth of July safety checklists are issued that seem painfully obvious. But judging by the annual carnage, it's obvious people need to be reminded.
 
Friday, June 27, 2014

Not just another manic Monday

A Mechanicville woman's day takes a turn from the bloody to the surreal.
 
Monday, June 9, 2014

Summing up your life

A Gloversville hospice gives patients a chance to leave a legacy of not just what they did, but who they were.
 
Monday, June 2, 2014

So long, Alice

An iconic character on a show that was not a hit ... until reruns.
 

columnists & blogs


Log into Dailygazette.com

Forgot Password?

Subscribe

Username:
Password: