The Daily Gazette
The Locally Owned Voice Of The Capital Region
Ken Schott's Parting Schotts
by Ken Schott

Parting Schotts

A Daily Gazette sports blog
Ken Schott blogs about college hockey & more

Union defenseman Gostisbehere named Hobey Baker Award top-10 finalist (updates with Gostisbehere quotes)

Union junior defenseman Shayne Gostisbehere has been named one of 10 finalists for the Hobey Baker Award, which goes to college hockey’s top player, it was announced Thursday.

Gostisbehere, a third-round pick of the Philadelphia Flyers in 2012, is the second Dutchmen to become a top-10 finalist. The other player was goalie Troy Grosenick in 2012, the year Union reached its first NCAA tournament Frozen Four.

“It means a lot,” Gostisbehere said. “It’s a tremendous honor, of course. Just being associated with the award is really an honor and definitely a great feeling right now.”

A slick puck-moving defenseman with a deadly slap shot, Gostisbehere is the second-ranked Dutchmen’s fifth-leading scorer with eight goals and 20 assists. He is tied for fifth in the country among defensemen with a plus-minus rating of plus-22. That is also tied for the team lead with left winger Daniel Carr.

In ECAC Hockey play, Gostisbehere was tied for fourth in defensemen scoring with four goals and 13 assists. His plus-19 was tied for first with Quinnipiac defenseman Danny Federico. Gostisbehere is a finalist for the conference’s Best Defensive Defenseman award.

Gostisbehere is the only defensemen among the finalists.

“It’s definitely an honor being the only defenseman,” Gostisbehere said. “It says a lot about our team. We’re a defensive group together. It definitely feels like a team [honor] because without my teammates, I wouldn’t be getting any recognition at all.”

Gostisbehere won the first phase of the Hobey Baker fan vote, garnering over 24,000 votes. The fan vote is counted toward one percent of the overall vote.

“It definitely surprised me,” Gostisbehere said. “I got lots of support from friends and family. I couldn’t be more happier right now.”

Phase two is underway at Ir runs through March 30.

The other finalists are Nebraska-Omaha junior forward Josh Archibald, St. Lawrence senior forward Greg Carey, St. Cloud State senior forward Nic Dowd, Ohio State junior forward Ryan Dzingel, Boston College junior forward Johnny Gaudreau and senior forward Kevin Hayes, Ferris State junior goalie CJ Motte, Wisconsin junior goalie Joel Rumpel and Minnesota sophomore goalie Adam Wilcox.

The Hobey Hat Trick finalists will be announced April 2. The winner will be named April 11 at the NCAA Frozen Four in Philadelphia.

Follow @slapschotts on Twitter. Follow @dgazettesports on Twitter.

Enjoy this post? Share it!


There are currently no posts. Be the first to comment on this story.

columnists & blogs