The Daily Gazette
The Locally Owned Voice Of The Capital Region
Ken Schott's Parting Schotts
by Ken Schott

Parting Schotts

A Daily Gazette sports blog
Ken Schott blogs about college hockey & more

Union's Ikkala, RPI's Higgs candidates for Lowe's Senior CLASS Award

Union forward Cole Ikkala and RPI forward Brock Higgs have been named candidates for the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award, it was announced Thursday.

Ikkala and Higgs are two of 20 candidates for the award. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence -– community, classroom, character and competition.

The 20 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans. The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the NCAA Frozen Four in April in Philadelphia.

The other candidates are Mac Bennett (Michigan), Jack Berger (Princeton), Sam Brittain (Denver), Greg Carey (St. Lawrence), Scott Czarnowczan (Ferris State), Nic Dowd (St. Cloud State), Kyle Gibbons (Canisius), Kevin Goumas (New Hampshire), Jordan Heywood (Merrimack), Andy Iles (Cornell), Stephen Johns (Notre Dame), Nick Jones (Mercyhurst), Dennis Robertson (Brown), Kevin Ryan (Niagara), Steven Shamanski (Providence), Dillon Simpson (North Dakota), Ryan Walters (Nebraska-Omaha) and Matt Zarbo (Clarkson).

Follow @slapschotts on Twitter. Follow @dgazettesports on Twitter.

Enjoy this post? Share it!


There are currently no posts. Be the first to comment on this story.

columnists & blogs