The Daily Gazette
The Locally Owned Voice Of The Capital Region
Ken Schott's Parting Schotts
by Ken Schott

Parting Schotts

A Daily Gazette sports blog
Ken Schott blogs about college hockey & more

Simpson named Union hockey MVP

Senior right winger Wayne Simpson was named the Union hockey most valuable player at the Dutchmen team banquet Sunday at The Edison Club.

Simpson led the team in scoring with 16 goals and 20 assists. He reached the 100 career point club this season.

Junior forward Cole Ikkala was a double winner. He earned the Charles N. Morrison Award, which is given to a student who participates in extracurricular activities while demonstrating academic interest and achievement. Ikkala also won the Scott Richardson Unsung Hero Award.

Dutchmen captain Mat Bodie and alternate captains Kyle Bodie and Greg Coburn won the Coaches Award.

Other winners were sophomore forward Daniel Ciampini (Most Improved Player Award), freshman forward Matt Wilkins (Rookie of the Year), sophomore defenseman Shayne Gostisbehere (Garnet Blades Seventh Player Award), and freshman forward Theo DiPauli (Thomas VanArden Dukehart Award for the highest grade-point average).

Enjoy this post? Share it!


There are currently no posts. Be the first to comment on this story.

columnists & blogs