The Locally Owned Voice of the Capital Region
Ken Schott's Parting Schotts
by Ken Schott

Parting Schotts

A Daily Gazette sports blog
Ken Schott blogs about college hockey & more

ESPN names announcers for NCAA hockey tournament

By Ken Schott
Wednesday, March 14, 2012

ESPN has named its announcing teams for the NCAA hockey tournament.

The Frozen Four April 5-7 in Tampa, Fla., will be called by Gary Thorne (play-by-play), Barry Melrose (analyst) and Clay Matvick (inside the glass). The first semifinal game April 5 will be on ESPNU at 4:30 p.m. with Game 2 on ESPN2 at 8 p.m. The April 7 championship game is on ESPN2.

The East Regional in Bridgeport, Conn., will be on ESPNU and called by John Buccigross and Melrose. The semifinals are March 23 at 3 and 6:30 p.m., and the championship game is 6:30 p.m. March 24.

The Midwest Regional in Green Bay, Wis., March 23-24 will be called by Ben Holden and Sean Ritchlin. The first semifinal March 23 will be on the Internet at ESPN3 at 5:30 p.m. (it will be shown on ESPNU at 11:30 p.m.). The second semifinal will be on ESPNU at 9 p.m. The championship game March 24 is at 9 p.m. on ESPNU.

The West Regional announcers are Matvick and Dave Starman. The semifinals from St. Paul, Minn., March 24 will be on ESPN3, with a replay on ESPNU at 12:30 and 3 p.m. March 25. The final is 5:30 p.m. March 25 on ESPNU

The Northeast Regionals from Worcester, Mass., March 24-25 will be called by Joe Beninati and Billy Jaffe. The first semifinal March 24 is on ESPNU at 4 p.m. The second semifinal at 7:30 p.m. will be on ESPN3, with a replay at 11:30 p.m. on ESPNU.

All of the games will be available on ESPN3.

The 16-team field will be announced at noon Sunday on ESPNU. Buccigross, Melrose and Aaron Ward will host.

Share story: print print email email facebook facebook reddit reddit



columnists & blogs

Log into

Forgot Password?