The Locally Owned Voice of the Capital Region
Margaret Hartley's Greenpoint
by Margaret Hartley

Greenpoint

A Daily Gazette community blog
Ideas on greener living
 
Tuesday, Aug. 5, 2014

Nasty, skin-burning hogweed may be invading area

If you accidentally come in contact with giant hogweed, or think you have, wash thoroughly with detergent (like liquid dish detergent) as soon as you can to get any trace of the sap off you. And stay out of the sun for 48 hours.
 
Monday, July 28, 2014

Love of cheese fuels dream of dairy cow

Cheese is something we’ve been meaning to add to our list of things we make ourselves, and the family has been arguing for years over a nonexistent dairy cow.
 
Saturday, July 19, 2014

Why curse weeds? Just eat them

I'm not weeding the garden -- I'm getting supper
 
Saturday, July 5, 2014

Make a weather wish, but carefully

This time of year we tend to be very specific with our weather wishes: what kind of weather we want, when we want it and for how long.
 
Saturday, June 28, 2014

Second plantings extend garden

While waiting for veggies to ripen, you can start planting more.
 
Tuesday, June 24, 2014

Lawn mowing by livestock

Goats in Detroit may be out of work, but ruminants make short work of grass elsewhere.
 
Monday, June 16, 2014

Red eft season

Last week the little red salamanders with black-ringed spots were all over the edges of the road, where daisies and poison ivy grow.
 
Saturday, June 7, 2014

The restorative power of a nature walk

I don’t care what the weather's like outside. I just want to be out there.
 
Thursday, June 5, 2014

Grow your own birdseed

Plant flowers for yourself, and the birds
 
Monday, May 19, 2014

Not too scared to go outside

Sure there are things to be wary of, but don't be so scared of bugs and bats that you avoid the great outdoors
 

columnists & blogs


Log into Dailygazette.com

Forgot Password?

Subscribe

Username:
Password: