The Locally Owned Voice of the Capital Region
Margaret Hartley's Greenpoint
by Margaret Hartley

Greenpoint

A Daily Gazette community blog
Ideas on greener living
 
Monday, Dec. 15, 2014

'Fox' folk song a lie

My daughter learned a lot about animals from all the songs we sang together. But I am hear to tell you that some of those songs are flat-out lies.
 
Monday, Dec. 8, 2014

Name your own days

Just don't make me go shopping
 
Saturday, Nov. 29, 2014

Seed catalogs stir dreams of next year

The garden is dead. On to next year.
 
Monday, Nov. 24, 2014

Plan shopping, portions to avoid food waste

The season of plates piled high begins with Thanksgiving feasts followed by a month or more of festive food
 
Tuesday, Nov. 18, 2014

Don't toss old cloths, recycle them

New Yorkers throw away an estimated 1.4 billion pounds of clothing each year, and Americans nationwide throw out 10.5 million tons of clothing and other textiles, like bedding and drapes.
 
Monday, Nov. 10, 2014

Recycling pumpkins

It’s time to start eating the decorations
 
Tuesday, Nov. 4, 2014

More baby chicks, as winter approaches

“It’s all ‘quack, quack, quack’ in the front yard and ‘peep, peep, peep’ in the back.”
 
Thursday, Oct. 23, 2014

The wind through the windows

Winter is cold. Happens every year.
 
Saturday, Oct. 11, 2014

Soap and water still best way to combat germs

Anti-bacterials are overkill
 
Monday, Oct. 6, 2014

Makeup? Candy? Lead found in surprising places

Watch out for cheap lipstick
 

columnists & blogs


Log into Dailygazette.com

Forgot Password?

Subscribe

Username:
Password: