The Locally Owned Voice of the Capital Region
Bill Cain's The Devils' Details
by Bill Cain

The Devils' Details

A Daily Gazette sports blog
Bill Cain covers the Albany Devils

Schedule for announcement of awards

By Bill Cain
Wednesday, April 10, 2013

Here's the AHL's schedule for announcing this season's awards. The All-Rookie Team will be announced later today, followed by:

First and Second All-Star Teams, Thursday; Dudley (Red) Garrett Memorial Award (outstanding rookie), Friday; Fred T. Hunt Memorial Award (sportsmanship, determination, dedication), Monday; Louis A.R. Pieri Award (outstanding coach), Tuesday; Eddie Shore Award (outstanding defenseman), April 17; Aldege "Baz" Bastien Award (outstanding goaltender), April 18; Yanick Dupré Memorial Award (AHL Man of the Year), April 18; Les Cunningham Award (most valuable player), April 19.

Following the conclusion of the regular season, the John B. Sollenberger Trophy (leading scorer), Willie Marshall Award (leading goal-scorer) and Harry "Hap" Holmes Memorial Award (outstanding team goaltending) will be announced.

The team trophies must wait until teams have mathematically ensured their claim to them. They include the Macgregor Kilpatrick Trophy (overall points champion), Emile Francis Trophy (Atlantic Division champion), F.G. (Teddy) Oke Trophy (Northeast Division champion - already won by the Springfield Falcons), Frank S. Mathers Trophy (East Division champion), Sam Pollock Trophy (North Division champion), Norman R. (Bud) Poile Trophy (Midwest Division champion), John D. Chick Trophy (South Division champion).

Share story: print print email email facebook facebook reddit reddit



columnists & blogs

Log into

Forgot Password?