The Daily Gazette
The Locally Owned Voice Of The Capital Region

New Saratoga County GOP leader

Saratoga County Republican Committee Vice Chairman John Herrick got a promotion this morning.

Herrick, the former chairman of the Saratoga Springs Republican Committee, was elevated to chairman of the county committee, after Saratoga County Republican Committee Treasurer Chris Callaghan dropped his bid for the top spot, according to outgoing Chairman Jasper Nolan.

The election of Herrick was not a surprise based on committee votes heading into this morning's county election. Even Callaghan had conceded defeat a few days earlier in the week.

Assemblyman James Tedisco, R-Glenville, who represents about half of the county's geography, said that Herrick was a good choice. He highlighted Herrick's work with the Saratoga Springs committee.

"It will be tough to fill Jasper's shoes," Tedisco added, referring to outgoing chairman Nolan, whose 27-year run ended today.

Additionally, Wilton Republican Committee Chairman Scott Kingsley was elected vice chair for the county committee. Linda McNab, the county's current secretary, will serve enough term in that position and Stacy Clifford will serve as committee treasurer. Both women also fill those functions for the Clifton Park Republican Committee.

Terms on the county committee are two years long.

Follow GazettePolitics on Twitter.

Enjoy this post? Share it!


There are currently no posts. Be the first to comment on this story.

columnists & blogs