The Locally Owned Voice of the Capital Region
 

Forum designed to open minds about open government

Wednesday, Jan. 27, 2016
Open government official speaking tonight at SCCC
 

Governor right to enact travel ban

Tuesday, Jan. 26, 2016
Ordering drivers off streets best way to clear snow, protect public
 

Get paranoid about the use of public cameras

Sunday, Jan. 24, 2016
The problem with government taking our liberty and invading our privacy is that eventually, we get used to it. The more they do it, and the more we acquiesce to it, the less chance we’ll be able to reclaim it.
 

Open Smart Cities board to public

Saturday, Jan. 23, 2016
Public has vital interest in knowing committee's business
 

Bills could ease college loan crisis

Friday, Jan. 22, 2016
Allowing people refinance loans to get lower interest rates is a good start
 

Restore full GEA funds this year

Thursday, Jan. 21, 2016
Aid withholding was supposed to be short-term funding bridge
 

Fixing ethics includes pork barrel reform

Wednesday, Jan. 20, 2016
Lawmakers use taxpayer money to buy favor with voters
 

No permits, no clearing for Constitution Pipeline

Tuesday, Jan. 19, 2016
Company should have to wait for state water quality permits before removing trees from path of pipeline
 

High Notes: Jan. 18, 2016

Monday, Jan. 18, 2016
Spotlighting the good being done in our communities
 

Cuomo should press hard for ethics reform

Sunday, Jan. 17, 2016
If he’s truly serious about reforming state government in the wake of the recent convictions of legislative leaders Sheldon Silver and Dean Skelos, Mr. Cuomo is going to have to use his bully pulpit and his considerable powers of persuasion to push hard for these reforms until they’re passed.
 

Dialogue must lead to action

Sunday, Jan. 17, 2016
Forums are worthwhile in raising issues, proposing solutions
 

Albany gun law a victory for safety

Saturday, Jan. 16, 2016
Gun storage law could prevent accidental deaths, avert suicides and domestic violence shootings
 

End brush fee charade in Rotterdam

Friday, Jan. 15, 2016
Brush fee is subsidizing town operations. That makes it a tax, not a fee.
 

Great ideas, but can we afford them?

Thursday, Jan. 14, 2016
Gov. Cuomo's budget proposal will make a lot of people happy, until the bill comes.
 

Propping up Thruway must end

Wednesday, Jan. 13, 2016
Fix problems rather than continuing to add cash
 
 

columnists & blogs


Log into Dailygazette.com

Forgot Password?

Subscribe

Username:
Password: