The Locally Owned Voice of the Capital Region
Loading Editorials...

No need for state political corruption museum

Tuesday, Dec. 1, 2015
There are more constructive ways to address corruption in New York

High Notes

Monday, Nov. 30, 2015
Spotlighting the good being done in our communities

Don’t wait to release Schenectady casino license

Sunday, Nov. 29, 2015
Every day the state Gaming Commission delays awarding the license for Schenectady’s new casino is another day lost in the construction season, another day lost in getting the buildings built, another day of tax revenue lost, another day lost in creating the hundreds of construction jobs and permanent casino jobs and retail jobs this area so desperately needs.

Start over on Palatine Town Hall

Sunday, Nov. 29, 2015
Approval process is impossibly tainted. Let new Town Board start from scratch.

Alcoa deal a warning on tax breaks

Saturday, Nov. 28, 2015
Casually giving away taxpayer money poses risks to economy and environment

Give thanks for the many people who give back

Thursday, Nov. 26, 2015
Community is lucky to have caring individuals

Public has a right to view settlements

Wednesday, Nov. 25, 2015
Agreements to keep lawsuit settlements secret violate state open government laws

Gun buyback is a chance to educate

Tuesday, Nov. 24, 2015
Programs generally ineffective at reducing crime, but have other intangible benefits

High Notes: Nov. 23, 2015

Monday, Nov. 23, 2015
Spotlighting the good being done in our communities

Americans don’t turn away those in need

Sunday, Nov. 22, 2015
We’re Americans. We don’t slam the door on people seeking refuge from oppression.

Impose strict rules for strip searches

Sunday, Nov. 22, 2015
Citizens deserve protection from unnecessary humiliation

A bribe by any other name ...

Saturday, Nov. 21, 2015
Pipeline promoters trying to buy residents' affection

Don't lose sight of the good police officers

Friday, Nov. 20, 2015
Officer's injury, recovery a reminder of how dangerous even "routine" police matters can be

Election Day ideal for civics education

Thursday, Nov. 19, 2015
Don't close school on Election Day, use it for citizenship education

Aid hike is a step in the wrong direction

Wednesday, Nov. 18, 2015
Huge increase in state education funding would signal return to free-spending ways

columnists & blogs

Log into

Forgot Password?