The Locally Owned Voice of the Capital Region

Free fishing contest for kids scheduled

Thursday, June 4, 2015
Two of the oldest sponsors of fishing contests for kids have paired up for the Ryan’s Farmers Market free fishing contest.

Teens bag turkeys

Thursday, May 28, 2015
Local teens, hunting with relatives, bring home turkeys

Outdoor Writers conference includes hunting, fishing

Thursday, May 21, 2015
Tom turkey taken at Outdoor Writers conference

Still look forward to opening day of turkey season

Thursday, May 14, 2015
Turkey season opening day unusual, exciting

Local teen leaves warm bed to take turkey

Thursday, May 7, 2015
Zack Galcik of Schuylerville bags a turkey on opening day

Spring turkey season has finally arrived

Thursday, April 30, 2015
Spring turkey season begins Friday

Anglers finally putting boats in the water

Thursday, April 23, 2015
Now that the ice is gone, boats are appearing on lakes and rivers

Items can aid turkey hunters

Thursday, April 16, 2015
Some items offered to help spring turkey hunters

Solving coyote problems wraps up vacation

Thursday, April 9, 2015
Last Friday, three days before leaving Flagler Beach, Fla., I was in Big Al’s Bait Shop picking up my last 50 shrimp bait and overheard a senior gentleman (Mr. Tom) talking about a coyote problem at his farm.

Video helps parents talk about firearms

Thursday, April 2, 2015
A gun organization has released a video to help teach children about firearms safety

DEC to stock trout statewide

Thursday, March 26, 2015
DEC to stock more than one million pounds of trout around the state

Changes proposed for NY Safe Act

Thursday, March 19, 2015
Several proposals made to amend Safe Act

Sacandaga yields trophy fish in contest

Thursday, March 12, 2015
Top two northern pikes measure over 97 inches and 59 pounds

Ashley wins Bassmaster Classic on home water

Thursday, March 5, 2015
Casey Ashley of South Carolina triumphs on home state water

Ruger fills stew pot with rabbits, squirrels

Thursday, Feb. 26, 2015
Ruger 10/22 on the mark for rabbits, squirrels

columnists & blogs

Fulton County Montgomery County Saratoga County
Schenectady County Schoharie County

Recent budget stories below...

Log into

Forgot Password?