Supervisors split primaries for new Montgomery County seat

Tuesday, September 10, 2013
Text Size: A | A

— In the highest-profile race among seats on the new Montgomery County Legislature, Minden town Supervisor Thomas Quackenbush edged Palatine town Supervisor Brian Sweet for the Republican line in the new 2nd Legislative District, but Sweet won the Conservative line.

Quackenbush outpolled Sweet, 150-132, in the GOP race, while Sweet was a 4-3 winner in the race for the Conservative line.

The county’s new government charter, set to take effect Jan. 1, changed up the usual races this year. The nine new legislative districts don’t follow town lines, forcing Quackenbush and Sweet, two established and popular local politicians, to challenge each other.

In other contested races:

• Amsterdam Third Ward alderman: Ron Barone gained the Republican line, 75-20, against Anthony Leggiero.

• Canajoharie highway superintendent: David Hodge edged James Homkey, 85-70, for the Republican line.

• Charleston highway superintendent: Merrill Wojcik lost the Democratic line to John Gross, 35-30, but took the Conservative line from Robert D. Rhinehardt, 12-2.

• Florida town clerk: Kim LaMont won the Republican line over Kathryn Hermance, 88-69.

• Minden highway superintendent: Scott Crewell topped Ronald Douglas, 101-76, for the Republican line.

• Minden Town Board: Thomas Yager (112 votes) and Stephen Heiser (91) topped Joan Eckler (67), Bryan Hayes (39) and James Earing Jr. (27) for the Republican nods for two seats up for election.

• Mohawk town supervisor: Edward Bishop won the Republican line over James Hoffman, 157-103.

• Mohawk highway superintendent: Incumbent William Holvig won the Republican line over Ronald Hinkle, 144-127.

• St. Johnsville Town Board: Ronald Millington (18 votes) and Susan Handy (14) beat Ronald Hezel (8) for the Republican nominations for two seats up for election.

Share story: print print email email facebook facebook reddit reddit


Log-in to post a comment.

columnists & blogs

Log into

Forgot Password?