Discover Downtown: Edison Plaza was home of fire department in 1929
Sunday, September 8, 2013
Text Size: A | A
On May 1, 1929, the Schenectady Fire Department opened its new headquarters at 155 Erie Blvd., giving the “city that lights and hauls the world” a new central fire station worthy of its nickname. Edison Plaza, as it is now called, is no longer connected to the fire department, but the majestic building and its intriguing facade clearly remind passers-by of its historic past....