Cross country: Brothers end drought

Thursday, October 24, 2013
Text Size: A | A

Justin Van Epps of Christian Brothers Academy notched his eighth victory this season in 16:03.47, and the Brothers had five of the top seven runners in a team triumph at the Big 10 championship meet.

CBA won its last Big 10 meet title in 1994, and scored 23 points to take Wednesday’s championship on Queensbury’s 5-kilometer course. Jonah Allard of Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons placed second (16:47.59), and Niall Coughlin of LaSalle placed third (17:01.89).

Eileen Bequette of Albany took girls’ honors in 19:40.63, and Ilenis Quinones (19:49.34) and Olivia Lazarou (19:55.73) of team champion Amsterdam ran second and third. Amsterdam claimed its last Big 10 meet title in 2009.

Talya Williams (20:15.38) of Big 10 dual meet champ Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons placed fourth.


Teams: CBA 23, Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons 96, Schenectady 98, Amsterdam 100, Albany 120, LaSalle 127, Troy 197, Catholic Central 201.

Individuals: Justin Van Epps (CBA), 16:03.47; Jonah Allard (NDBG), 16:47.59; Niall Coughlin (LSI), 17:01.89; Kaushik Pilar (CBA), 17:-7.36; Kevin LeFleche (CBA), 17:14.24; Liam O’Brien (CBA), 17:17.13; Nick O’Brien (CBA), 17:32.10; Devin Fitzgerald (Sch), 17:41.85; Brendan Bequette (Alb), 17:49.14; Chris Quinones (T), 17:59.48.


Teams: Amsterdam 40, Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons 54, Albany 74, Schenectady 90, Catholic Central 91.

Individuals: Eileen Bequette (Alb), 19:40.63; Ilenis Quinones (Amst), 19:49.34; Olivia Lazarou (Amst), 19:55.73; Talya Williams (NDBG), 20:15.38; Dayshia Randall (T), 20:28.47; Chantel Dopp (Amst), 20:53.60; Emma Ward (Sch), 21:03.02; Lilianna Matala (NDBG), 21:20.27; Megan DuFort (Sch), 21:35.97; Julia Engster (C), 21:43.83.

Share story: print print email email facebook facebook reddit reddit


Log-in to post a comment.

columnists & blogs

Log into

Forgot Password?