Zurlo to succeed Bowen as Saratoga County sheriff

Wednesday, November 6, 2013
Text Size: A | A

— Michael H. Zurlo, a retired sheriff’s investigator, will be the next Saratoga County sheriff, but the prospective next chairman of the county board may have been defeated.

Zurlo, a Republican, convincingly defeated Democrat Phillip Lindsey and independent Jason Longton Jr. in the countywide balloting to replace the retiring James D. Bowen Sr., according to unofficial results from the county Board of Elections. He had 28,521 votes to 16,341 for Lindsey and 1,435 for Longton.

Zurlo had been the presumptive winner ever since a September Republican primary in which he defeated retired state police Investigator Jeff Gildersleeve, whose campaign was based on his opposition to the NY SAFE Act gun control law.

Zurlo said his goals include modernization of the Sheriff’s Department.

Zurlo, 59, had a 34-year career with department, rising to the rank of senior investigator before his retirement in 2010. He was then elected a Stillwater town justice, a post he resigned last spring to run for sheriff.

Bowen, also a Republican, is retiring on Dec. 31 after a 41-year career that made him the longest-tenured sheriff in the state.

The sheriff serves a four-year term, at a current annual salary of $113,305.

close battle

In Malta, meanwhile, four-term Supervisor Paul Sausville was in a tight contest and trailing Democratic challenger Cynthia Young. Young held a 1,537-1,525 lead, but with 110 absentee ballots, most of them Republican, uncounted.

The race was closely watched because Sausville stands to become next chairman of the Board of Supervisors if re-elected, and the town is home to the GlobalFoundries computer chip plant and Luther Forest Technology Campus.

In other contested races:


For town supervisor, seven-term incumbent Republican Philip Barrett defeated Democrat Wanda Zygmuntowicz. Republican Amy Standaert retained her Town Board seat over Democrat Nancy Bellamy.


Republican Paul Lent, currently Saratoga County’s director of emergency services, won the supervisors’ race over Democrat Regina Doi. He will replace George Hargrave, who is retiring this year. GOP incumbent David Costanzo was re-elected highway superintendent.


With two Town Board seats at stake, Republican incumbents Walter Polak Jr. and Paul Hotaling appeared to have won a slim victory over Democrats Deanna Stephenson and Joseph Christopher. Republican Kevin Tollison was uncontested for supervisor, replacing Mindy Wormuth, who is retiring amid several scandals.


Republican Edward Kinowski was elected to a third two-year term as town supervisor, defeating Democrat Brain Confresi by a 2-1 ratio. Republicans Arthur Baker and Kenneth Petronis were returned to their Town Board seats.


With two Town Board seats contested, Republican incumbent Robert Rice was losing to Democrat Joanne Klepetar. Republican John McEachron also appeared to have won a seat.


Democrat Preston Jenkins Jr. was elected to a fourth two-year term as town supervisor, defeating Republican Keith Baker.


Republican Dennis Baker was elected mayor of Mechanicville, 749-425, over Democrat James Peluso. Jodie Gilheany was elected finance commissioner, and Tim Hipwell was elected public safety commissioner.


In other towns, one slate of candidates — generally Republican — was elected without formal opposition. Ballston will have a new supervisor in Patrick Ziegler, and Greenfield a new supervisor in Paul Lunde.

In uncontested countywide races, District Attorney James A. Murphy III was re-elected and Craig A. Hayner of Halfmoon was elected county clerk. Susan Hayes-Masa was elected a county coroner.

Share story: print print email email facebook facebook reddit reddit


Log-in to post a comment.

columnists & blogs

Log into

Forgot Password?