School board members selected for new Oppenheim-Ephratah-St. Johnsville district

Tuesday, April 16, 2013
Text Size: A | A

— Voters in the newly merged Oppenheim-Ephratah-St. Johnsville Central School District chose seven members for the district’s first board of education Tuesday night.

District officials said the winning candidates were Susanne Sammons, Renee Swartz, Ben Conte, Lee Quackenbush, Neil Clark, Cindy Breh and Keith Handy.

In order to stagger the number of seats up for election each year on the new board, the three candidates elected with the most votes earned full three-year terms, while the next two with the most votes received two-year terms and the two winners with the fewest votes were given one-year terms.

Sammons, Swartz and Conte will serve three-year terms, with Sammons receiving 508 votes, Swartz 501 and Conte 448. Quackenbush and Clark will each serve two-year terms, as Quackenbush earned 394 votes and Clark 370. Breh and Handy will serve one-year terms, with Breh collecting 357 votes and Handy 350.

The board’s organizational meeting is set for 6:30 p.m. Thursday in the St. Johnsville High School auditorium. The board will choose a president and vice president at that meeting.

Share story: print print email email facebook facebook reddit reddit


Log-in to post a comment.

columnists & blogs

Log into

Forgot Password?