Many file papers for Fulton County elections

Friday, July 15, 2011
Text Size: A | A

— Major party candidates filed their candidacy petitions this week, setting up 15 Republican primaries, one Conservative Party primary and a number of general election contests.

There is a general election council race in Gloversville’s 1st Ward and primaries for supervisor in Gloversville’s 4th and 5th Wards.

Johnstown 2nd Ward voters will have a primary for supervisor.

In the town of Broadalbin, there are four candidates for highway superintendent and the group will sort itself out in both a two-way primary for the Conservative Party nomination and a four-way primary for the Republican nomination.

There are primaries for town supervisor in Mayfield, Caroga and the town of Johnstown and council primaries in the towns of Mayfield, Northampton, Perth and the town of Johnstown.

Bleecker, Oppenheim and Stratford will have primary contests for highway superintendent, Caroga has a primary for town justice and Mayfield Republicans will decide a contest for town clerk.

The deadline for filing as a major party candidate was 5 p.m. Thursday at the Fulton County Board of Elections.

Independent party candidates may file petitions the week of Aug. 16-23.

Contests by municipality include:

- Gloversville 1st Ward: Incumbent Democrat Robin Wentworth against Republican/Conservative George Walker III.

- Gloversville 4th Ward primary: Incumbent Supervisor Shirley Savage against Charles Potter, who is also running on the Conservative line.

- Gloversville 5th Ward primary: Incumbent Republican Michael Rooney against Republican/Conservative Michael Ponticello.

- City of Johnstown primary for 2nd Ward supervisor: Incumbent G. Michael Kinowski and David Thum.

- Town of Johnstown supervisor primary: Incumbent Jack Wilson against Town Clerk Nancy MacVean.

- Town of Johnstown council primary, three-way race for two seats: Incumbent Beth Schloicka and newcomers Daryl Baldwin and Charles Mault. A vacancy in a third Town Board seat will have to be filled by independent candidates filing in August, officials said. The winners will face Democrats Albert J. Hayes Sr. and John V. Zawadzki.

- Town of Broadalbin primary for highway superintendent: Incumbent Donald Loveless Jr., former Town Supervisor Lee Hollenbeck, Lance R. Winney and Michael Greco. Winney and Greco will also run for the Conservative nomination.

- Town of Caroga primary for supervisor: Incumbent James Selmser and Ralph Ottuso.

- Town of Caroga primary for town justice: Incumbent James Subik and David Falvo.

- Town of Bleecker primary for highway superintendent: Incumbent Paul Brink, Edward Bleyl and Robert Young.

- Town of Mayfield primary for supervisor: Incumbent Richard Argotsinger, Jack Putman and Frederick Castiglione.

- Town of Mayfield primary for town clerk: Incumbent Dorothy Hart and Cheryl Gifford.

- Town of Perth primary for council (two seats): Incumbents Peter Betz and Gay Lewandowski, and Charles Smith.

- Town of Oppenheim primary for highway superintendent: Incumbent Richard Crum, Marc P. Cool II and Brian Miller.

- Town of Stratford primary for highway superintendent: Incumbent Robert Stalnaker Sr. and Mark Snowman.

- Town of Northampton primary for council (two seats): Incumbents Guy Poulin and Ivar Anderson, and former District Attorney William Gritsavage. Gritsavage and Anderson are also running as Conservatives.

Share story: print print email email facebook facebook reddit reddit


Log-in to post a comment.

columnists & blogs

Log into

Forgot Password?